RSS

Chicken Soup for the Sick Wife’s Soul

09 Jan

So, as I’ve mentioned, I like to cook.  I like to think that I’m pretty good, too.  This is not always an opinion shared by everyone else, sadly.  My wife, for example, often accuses me of doing “too much”.  For example, if she wants a grilled cheese sandwich, she wants bread (sliced) and cheese (Kraft singles).  She can handle my insistence on cheese that’s not in individually-wrapped slices, but she has no desire for me to add anything else – like bacon, chipotle-rasperry sauce, cajun-smoked ham, croissants, or (especially) fried eggs.

Though, all that stuff together makes one heck of a grilled-cheese.

So, when she was sick the other night, I decided that what she’d most want was to keep it simple.  Simple like chicken and rice soup.  This turned out better than expected – and by that I mean, I actually liked it, too (I am not a chicken soup guy).  Here’s the recipe:

Simple Chicken-and-Rice Soup
(Serves 4)

Ingredients:
1/2 large white onion
1 large celery stalk
1/2 c. sweet peppers (I used tiny orange bell peppers)
2 lbs. chicken thighs
3/4 c. white rice
6 c. water
salt and pepper
cajun seasonings (Make your own, or use the store blend.  I won’t judge.)

Directions:
Liberally season the chicken thighs with the cajun seasonings, and let them sit for a few hours.  Chop the onion, celery, and peppers.  Toss in a large stockpot along with the chicken thighs, rice, and water.  Bring the whole thing to a boil, stirring fairly regularly.  Cover and reduce the heat, allowing to simmer for about an hour.

While the soup continues to simmer, remove the chicken (I don’t recommend using your hand for this).  When it cools a bit, remove the skin and meat from the bones, then put the meat back into the soup and stir to combine.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Note: The rice will be pretty mushy.  I like that in soup, but if you don’t, brown rice should stay pretty firm.  Quinoa might work, as well.  Who knows?  Take the risk!  Be the change you want to be in your soup.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 9, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
