RSS

Food My Wife Likes, Part One – Honey Lime Fruit Salad

09 Jan

So, the wife and I have both resolved to be healthier this new year.  To help with that, I’ve personally made it a goal to fewer processed ingredients, cook at home more often, and do less fast-food purchasing in general.  Since I like to cook, I’m responsible for doing most of the cooking, and I’m the guy who purchases the groceries (usually), I’ve decided to make some changes in my routine – including a lot of advance meal planning.

I’d also originally planned to blog about everything I cook, but let’s be honest – they don’t all turn out to be winners.

So, I’m just going to blog about the stuff we really, really liked.  First up is a recipe I originally found at a blog called Mel’s Kitchen Cafe – Honey Lime Fruit Salad.  Personally, I’m not a big fruit salad fan, but I really liked this version – and my wife raved about it.  In fact, she showed more than one sign of possibly developing some sort of addiction to this salad.  The bowl has steadily gotten emptier and emptier since Monday, and now that my wife has gone to bed, I’m planning to pack the rest for my lunch tomorrow without her knowing.

You can check out the original recipe here, and the rest of Mel’s Kitchen Cafe here.  There’s a lot of amazing-looking food on there that I intend to try really soon.

That said, my version was a bit different, mostly due to my refusal to actually break out the measuring spoons.  Here you go:

Ingredients (Feel free to substitute “handful” for cup, that’s probably more accurate to what I did):

2 cups of pineapple chunks
2 cups of mandarin oranges slices
1 cup of kiwi slices
1 cup of green grapes
1 cup of strawberry halves
1 lime, zested and juiced
3 tbsp. of honey
1/2 tbsp. of poppy seeds

Here’s the process:  Ready?  Dump it all into a bowl and mix it together.  Use your hand.  Live a little.  Mel breaks hers down into two steps, and probably for a very good reason.  I got ahead of myself, though, and just did it in one fell swoop.  Also, canned/frozen fruit works just fine – we used frozen strawberries, for example, since they were one-third the price of fresh, and the fresh ones looked a little funky.  If it’s canned, I’d just drain it really well before mixing.

Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 9, 2014 in Food, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
